Skip to main content
PHONE
920-826-5901

Facebook Hoax: Hover over my name

A new Facebook hoax about staying privately connected is resurrected on Facebook from almost three years ago.

The following hoax post is what is going around.

“With the recent changes in FB, the “public” can now see activities on ANY wall. This happens when our friend hits “like” or “comment” ~ automatically, their friends would see our posts too. Unfortunately, we cannot change this setting by ourselves because Facebook has configured it this way. PLACE your mouse over a name (DO NOT CLICK), a window will appear, now move the mouse on “FRIENDS” (also without clicking), then down to “Settings”, click here and a list will appear. REMOVE the CHECK on “LIFE EVENTS” “STATUS UPDATES” “PHOTOS” and “COMMENTS & LIKES”. By doing this, activity among friends and family will no longer become public.”

This will actually have your friends seeing less of you. If you uncheck “Comments & Likes” for example, your friends will no longer see your comments and likes.

If you want to be a bit more private, go to your privacy settings and make sure to answer the question, “Who can see my stuff?” and set it to friend only. At the same time you can also limit who can look you up.

Privacy is a big issue so it scares a lot of people. Keep in mind that while you feel you are in your living room talking on Facebook that you are also in an auditorium of “friends” that you are talking to at the same time.

If you see someone making this post, you are welcome to drop them a link to this post and help them out.

Happy, safe and hopefully somewhat private Facebook posting!